How to Wipe Your Mac and Reset it to Factory Settings?

0
99
How to Wipe Your Mac and Reset it to Factory Settings
How to factory reset Macbook Pro or Mac, if this is what you want to know, then chances are you’ve already decided to replace your old Mac device with the latest one, or you just want to erase the contents of your hard drive and start fresh.

 

Well, whatever be your reason to factory reset MacBook Pro, I am here to guide you step-by-step.

In this post, we explain how to completely wipe your MacBook (or iMac, MacBook Air) and reset it to a like-new state.

It is always advised to back up your data before performing this task because a format of the hard drive will erase all content on the hard drive and remove it from your iMac, MacBook Pro or Macbook Air. Or if you’re selling your MacBook Pro to some other person, make sure to sign out of iMessage, iCloud and any other accounts before you reset.

Before I share you with a guide, how to reset Macbook Pro, I want you to backup your data first.

Related Articles:

Backup Mac Using Time Machine

Backup Mac Using Time Machine

Time Machine is a great feature built into Mac OS X or macOS that you should not only know about but use.

It’s an exceptionally easy to use solution. All you need to do is plug in an external storage device, hard drive or SSD, and start backing up with Time Machine.

This built-in backup application used to keep an up-to-date copy of all of the files on your Mac. It keeps hourly, daily, and weekly backups for each month, so you can recover an earlier version of a document if you need to.

Here’s a step-by-step guide to backing up with Time Machine:

Step1: Connect a hard drive or SSD to your MacBook Pro.

Step2: The external storage will need to be formatted.

Step3: Now you can see an alert on your Mac asking if you want to use the drive with Time Machine. Click on Use as Backup Disk.

Step4: If there’s no alert appears on your screen, open System Preferences > Time Machine and choose Backup Disk.

Step5: Select the storage device you wish to back up to, and click Use Disk.

How to Backup Mac with Time Machine

Congratulations, it is all done.

You have successfully backed everything up. Now we can head to the tutorial, how to wipe or reset Macbook Pro.

How to Factory Reset Macbook Pro or any Mac Computer {Easy Guide}

Step 1: To enter Recovery Mode, click the Apple logo at the top left of the screen and select Restart.

Step 2: Hold down the Command and R keys on the keyboard until the Apple logo pops up on your screen.

Step 3: Select your language and continue.

Step 4: Now you can see the Recovery Mode Utilities window. Choose Disk Utility and click Continue.

Erase Disk using Disk Utility

Step 5: Click on your main hard drive, which is Macintosh HD.

Step 6: To wipe your hard drive, click the Erase button. In the Format menu, choose Mac OS Extended (Journaled) or for Macs using High Sierra and above select APFS.

Factory Reset Macbook

Erasing takes time, so you have to be patient. It will permanently erase all your data.

How to Factory Reset Macbook Pro using Recovery Mode

Step 7: When it’s finished, click Done and exit the program by going to the top menu and selecting Disk Utility > Quit Disk Utility.

Now from the Recovery Menu, select Reinstall macOS and follow the on-screen instructions. After installation, your MacBook restarts to a setup assistant and the Welcome screen.

Reinstall MacOS

Don’t continue with the installation of your system if you’re planning to sell it. The new owner completes the steps of the setup assistant using their information and Apple ID. Press Command-Q, then click Shut Down.

Final Words

So when you want to sell your Mac or it is not performing well, or you want to reinstall macOS then all you need to do is follow the above steps to factory reset MacBook Pro, Macbook Air and any other Mac devices.

I hope this guide will help you to wipe a Mac and start everything with a fresh. If you have any doubts, let us know in the comments.